The Key to It

Recently I lost both keys to my Jeep. I know, don’t ask, it’s embarrassing to admit and subsequently I found one of them. Before I found that one though I had to have a key fob programmed by a locksmith. As soon as I lost the first one I went on ebay and purchased a blank fob so I could have a second one made. When I lost the 2nd one a couple of days later I was prepared with my blank fob to have it programmed by the locksmith. The process for that is to have the dealer issue you the codes that are specific to your vehicle by giving them your VIN number, once you have that code a blank fob can be programmed. The fee for that will start at around $150 depending on your location, so it isn’t cheap. BTW, the whole process from the dealer was $420 so this is a significant savings.

Of course with one key in hand I’m still at a disadvantage so I ordered 2 more blank key fobs on ebay to make 2 more. Now this is where it gets interesting because IF you have 2 working fobs (and this is for most new cars) you can program the 3rd one on your own in about 30 seconds.  Now remember I had one made, ordered 2 more blanks and then found one of the originals giving me 2 working and 2 blanks. It was going to cost me an additional $150 to have the 2nd one made had I not found it. The process is so simple a child could literally do it.

 

fob

 

You take working key 1, put it in the ignition and turn the key to on (not starting it, just on) and wait 10 secs and turn off. Insert 2nd working key do the same, after 10 secs a bing will sound and you remove the key (on my dashboard it said Programming in Process). Now you enter the blank key, do the same and wait 20 secs until it bings again and your key is programmed. Couldn’t be easier and I highly recommend that if you now have 2 working fobs immediately get a third (I paid $15) and do this process yourself so you don’t have to spend all that money if you lose one. Remember the object is to have 2 keys and if you only have one that works then you’ll have to spend big bucks to make a second. For a mere $15 you have a third backup. Of course I now have 4, but hey, it’s better than 1. When ordering the blank fob just be very careful about ordering the correct one, some may look similar but can be different.

I know this is the type of thing you will read and think “I better get on that”, and you’re right, do it NOW!

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Key to It

  1. Excellent tip on programming blank car keys. I once lost mine and believe me when I say it cost me big time. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Your blog write-up is wonderful…. Thanks for sharing your information about car keys!!!
    http://www.republiclimos.com/our-services/

Leave a Reply

