A New Beginning

As some of you know I have closed my business, ZP Auto, Inc. There is a great article on Jeremiah’s Vanishing New York about it. I am going to be switching this blog up a bit to be more inclusive of other service industries because lets face it, we’re getting screwed over everywhere we go. Have you called a plumber, electrician or even bought anything new that lasts more than 2 years? It’s a nightmare out there and I ask you to send me stories about what is happening to you and lets see if we can come up with any viable strategies to get through the process.

I will start with my own recent situation of the non draining dishwasher I purchased only 1 year and 3 months ago. I didn’t even install it for a few months so it should be still under warranty, ha!

dishwasher

After calling the manufacturer, I unbelievably was able to secure what is called a concession. This means that they are not really warranting the item, they are merely allowing through their kind heartedness, the ability for me to get this job done mostly for free. Now concessions are meted out by item, so there is a parts concession and a labor concession. These can be given out on an individual basis so make sure you ask for both. The downside to concessions is that the repair company can charge you for a visit so make sure that doesn’t happen either.

Just getting through to the repair company that the manufacturer refers you to can be time consuming. After numerous unsuccessful tries I finally called the manufacturer back and requested they get them on the line and conference us to figure out when they were coming (somehow they never answered the phone for me but did so right away for them). Before they arrive, if you can, try to make sure that there isn’t any detritus stuck where it shouldn’t be, this can cause your concession to go bye bye (take that drain cover off and clean out the inside of the well). One last piece of advice and this is a weird one, make sure your home is not too dirty. My conversation with the repairman led us to the topic of how some people’s homes are so filthy that they will automatically reject concessions (of course they don’t openly admit this) because they can use the excuse that the owner’s negligence caused the issue.

As with all my advice, be nice but be firm, get them on your side. Losing it almost never helps (I say almost because sometimes you can’t help it and it somehow just works).

I’m in the first phase of this process which means someone showed up and diagnosed the issue and I am now waiting 2 weeks for parts. I shouldn’t complain because at least we’re on the right track so far.

Please let me know of your stories and hopefully we can all work through this together.

Elayne

dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

 

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

