To Sell or Not

I’m constantly being asked this question and while I’ve addressed this before, I’m happy to rehash it again. “When should I get rid of my old car and buy a new one?” Now many websites love to go over this and they have a very technical view of the whole thing but mine is much simpler. WHEN YOU CAN AFFORD ONE.

If you haven’t guessed by now, I am a very practical person and not a very sentimental one. I’m not one of those people who names my cars or holds onto them because they have some sentimental value to me.
They are tools to be used to get me from one place to another and hopefully be comfortable while doing so, period.
To me a newer Jeep is better than an older one.

jeep

My advice is to do the math. If the amount of money you are spending on your car is starting to equal what you could spend on a newer one (don’t forget to factor in the amount you will gain by selling the old one), my advice would be to get a newer one. If you are so in love with your car that you can’t give it up (believe me there are plenty of you out there) then by all means, dump all your life savings into it, but don’t come crying to me when you’re broken down on the side of the road without a dime to your name. I know that sounds harsh but so many people endlessly spend money on “Edwina” because she’s a part of the family.  I’m sorry, NO. 

Oh and if you have a classic car then ignore all of the above. Go ahead and
dump some money into that, up to a point, we need to preserve as many of those
as possible.

Questions:dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Sell or Not

  1. suraj pawar says:

    There is lot of issues in car selling.if your old car increase you expenses again n again then you definitely sell out it if any buyer is ready no matter how much you earn from it

  2. Thomas says:

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

