Service With A Smile

Recently, while on vacation, I was speaking to a mechanic who told me his boss was constantly walking around asking them “if they were finished” and wondered if I harassed my employees in this manner. Of course I said no. Why would I do that? We are a team and I generally know where they are in the process but even when I don’t, why would I want to put any pressure on them to finish a job? I’m much more interested in a job getting done properly than quickly. This is a selfish quest, it’s about expediency. Sure, I want to finish the job, but also want to make sure the customer doesn’t return with the same issue. There are plenty of returns in this business and the best thing an owner can do, is limit them as best as possible. I hear plenty of complaints from people about how they got a car back from a mechanic and it was doing the same thing days later. This is true of my customers as well, so I’m not gonna claim anything different. The difference is when I do get a phone call my first reaction is “bring it right back in”, I’ve heard other shops will sometimes give the “run around”.

service wtih smile

This is a customer service based business model, and any shop who gives you any type of run around, in any way, should be avoided. I really don’t understand it, we are here to serve and to make a living while doing so. I often wonder how some of these employees can even stand going to work everyday if they have to engage in constant arguments with their boss, sounds horrible to me. I’ve always maintained that when you go into any business and see happy employees then you are seeing good management and most likely a quality product, so look around the next time and see if the mechanics seem miserable and won’t look you in the eye. If they won’t, then RUN!

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

