Freeing Time

I just returned from another shop where I had a conversation with the owner about the work week of shop owners. The conversation started with me asking if he was open this weekend…Memorial Day. He said he was closed on Monday but was opened half the day on Saturday. Being in NYC, I questioned why he was opened on Saturdays. Most NY’ers, if they’re lucky enough to have a car, (some would say cursed enough to have one) leave town Friday eve and don’t return until late Sunday. I questioned how much work he actually did on Saturday and he said “not much really, we mostly end up cleaning the shop to be ready for Monday”. Of course I found this to be insane. Stay an hour late on Friday, I suggested, take off Saturday and enjoy your life. We bantered back and forth and he did agree that it would be nice to have entire weekends off for the summer.

 

Many, many years ago we worked half days on Saturday as well, but I assessed that my regular customers just came that day since I offered it. When we changed it and started saying we were closed they said, “ok”, and made an appointment for a weekday instead. Sure we lost a few emergencies here and there, but I found that when that happened they would go to a shop that was opened on weekends and get gouged by them. They soon learned to wait for us to reopen.

 

I’m not sure what the American obsession for working so many hours is. What is the point of working if not to make enough money to enjoy it. I love my time off and I wouldn’t trade it for money (well, maybe for millions but that’s unlikely anyway).

hammock

 

 

So enjoy your free time, put your feet up, take a bath, read a book, cook/eat a good meal. Most importantly have a great summer and DON’T WORK YOUR LIFE AWAY!

 

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

