Bring It Back In

So just in case you’re one of my avid readers and you got to thinking that I was so fantastic and always nice to my customers, let me tell you what just happened. A customer called and was annoyed with me. He had called a couple of weeks ago when I was out, complained to one of my mechanics about some screws we put on his molding (he didn’t like the way they looked) and was upset that I never called him back. Why would I call back? My mechanic had already handled it by telling him to bring it back in. This particular customer and I have had numerous email conversations, which is how we usually communicate, why he didn’t just email me I have no idea. Anyway, I said the same thing I always do, bring it back in and we’ll fix it. If you have something specific you want on your classic car and we don’t a have all that hardware in stock, get what you need and we’ll put it on for you, NO CHARGE. I never charged him for the hardware in the first place but he didn’t want to hear that, he just wanted to chastise me for not calling him back. He was upset with us and I should have just jumped on that phone call. Well those of you who know me will know that this doesn’t fly with me. BRING YOUR CAR BACK IN FOR A NO CHARGE REPAIR, is all your gonna get out of me and if you keep insisting on harassing me because I didn’t call you back you’ll get what he got. Hung up on (my friends get so pissed at me when I do that). Sad to say it did escalate to me raising my voice (doesn’t usually take that long for that to happen when you’re being unreasonable).

 

<
 

The bottom line for me if someone hadn’t fixed something to my needs, would be to get them to go back and do it. But what do I know?

Oh right, quite a bit.

UPDATE: OK, so after cooling off I sent him an email and apologized for yelling and we’ve completely made up! He’s bringing it back in. 🙂

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

