Memories

One of the most common occurrences around here is the lack of memory. It’s quite comical actually,  not only because it pertains to me, but to most of my customers as well. It’s not unusual to hear, “but we just did that last year”, only to search my records and find out it was 3 years ago. Of course I always say I can’t remember yesterday let alone last year, so it makes me feel a little better to know others are suffering from the same malady. There are few things more important than keeping good records for your vehicle. When a new customer comes in and shows me what has been done in the past, it is invaluable and a huge time saver for my employees (not to mention sometimes a good chuckle to see how they’ve been overcharged…sorry can’t help it).

 How hard can this be? I’m always surprised how few people do it.

 Here’s instructions on how to do it:

 1. Take the receipt.

 2. Fold it half.

 3. Walk over to car.

 4. Open glove box.

 5. Insert.

 

 

 

There, done. Was that so hard?

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memories

  1. Donna says:

    Thank you. Seriously, I have paper overkill going on around here all the time and cannot seem to stand to try to keep track of one more thing sometimes. So I generally toss the receipts or expect my husband to keep them (which he doesn’t, but it’s his “job”). I’m going to try this! lol

Leave a Reply

