Eye Contact

A male customer of mine, Bill,  just picked up his car and we had a nice long conversation about how he can find a woman. It was quite refreshing to see that there are 50 year old men out there who are actively looking to find love. Bill seems to be under the impression that I’m going to find that woman for him (I do have a few single friends) but I’m not the matchmaker type. I asked him what age range he was looking for. Bill said late 30’s to mid 40’s, but then proceeded to tell me that the last few woman he went out with were just too busy with their youngish children. My advice to him was to move his age range up to 48-56. This is the age when most women are newly free from their children and are really looking to go out and have a good time. Bill was willing to up the age range, but was still unsure of where to find these women. Oddly, I couldn’t really come up with a quick reply and I’m in that group. What do we women in Bill’s demographic do? From what I know of my single friends we’re not really in bars but we are in restaurants and sometimes in groups. We are at the gym and we are running errands so bumping into us in stores is a great way to meet. Some are trolling for men online but that’s not my recommendation.   Not all of us are looking for love per se (hand raised), but we’re all in the market in one way or another.

 

 

I have many single male and female customers and I guess I could run a dating service if I had any interest in that. In the end I told him to change his approach, be more open and start approaching older woman, they’re very fun to be around. I told him to go the next Breast Cancer Awareness walk and put a sign on his chest that says “50, Single and Looking” and he’ll be overwhelmed with all the woman that come his way! The funny thing is of course I hear this all the time from women as well, “where are all the men out there”? When I tell them I see plenty of them daily, they want to come camp out in my office. I would advise you ladies to do the same thing, be more open, make some eye contact, and let them know you’re available, they just might not be seeing it. We’re all a little scared to put ourselves out there but if we’re not willing to go out on that limb (I can be quilty of this too) we’ll never get what we want. The key is to let them know you’re ready to be approached and you’ll be surprised how many will do just that. I have a friend who’s recently separated and she was sure she’d never go out on another date, she said no one had flirted with her in years. I assured her it wouldn’t be a problem and she just needed to open up and make some eye contact. Next thing you know she’s dating a guy she met walking down the street!. So go out there and try it, just look a few guys right into their eyes and smile, trust me, they’ll fall all over you.

Oh and don’t try to blame me when some of them turn out to be turds (or married), I’m just helping you get them, I can’t screen them too!

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

