On A Daily Basis

When I first told people that I was going to write this blog they questioned whether I would have enough material to keep it going. This just made me laugh because what I have to deal with on a daily basis could fill volumes.

A male customer just popped in with a big smile on his face.

We discussed his car for a millisecond before out of his mouth pops “I’m soooo happy, I have a girlfriend and I’m finally getting some”. I was a tad perplexed that he would blurt this out because as I asked, “I thought you were married?” Smiling at me with a big goofy grin he responds “I am, for 18 years but we never do it anymore”.
Now many of you are going to think you know what my response will be and many of you will not be happy with what I harass him about but when you deal mostly with men on a daily basis you have to pick your battles (yes, kinda like with children).
Here’s mine:
Me: “Does your wife know?”
Him: “No!”
Me: “Wow, so you’re cheating on your wife and you think it’s ok to just walk into my office and announce it to me? That is just so disrespectful to her. Go ahead and have a girlfriend if you must but keep your trap shut about it!”
Him, stuttering: “Oh but I’m just so happy, it’s been so long and I’m just bursting….”
Me, cutting him off: “Seriously, you’re walking around telling people that you’re cheating on your wife, so everyone will know but her”.
Him: “But you don’t really know her, you deal mostly with me”.
Me: “It’s not OK to tell anyone, period. I don’t care what you do, just have some discretion about it”.
Him: “OK, you’re right, you’re right”.
Me: “What if your wife came in here? Now I know you’re cheating on her, how embarrassing for her”.
Him: “OK, I get it”
Me: “What if I ran into the two of you in the street or at a restaurant?”
Him crumpling up into a ball: “OK, I get it already”.
Me: “Who else have you told? You’re out there announcing it to everyone?”
Him: “OK, OK, I get it”. 
 Me: “Clearly you don’t and clearly I have to drum it into your brain so that it can take a foothold”.
Him: “OK, OK!”
 
It went on for a few more minutes just to let it sink in.

 
Now you see what I have to deal with?
 

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

