Can You Say Scam

Recently one of my friends sent me a Craigslist listing for a vehicle he wanted to buy.He was very excited because it was such a good deal. Here’s how good of a deal, it was a $13,000 Volvo for only $3,000 because the seller was in the military, being deployed and “desperately needed to get rid of it ASAP”. So Jason (I’m sorry, I had to out you), emailed him to find out what the story was and the seller quickly responded with the fact that since more time had lapsed the price was now down to $2860 WITH shipping to NY from Montana. Hopefully by this point some of you, my dedicated readers will be laughing. Of course Jason IS a dedicated reader AND a friend so if he didn’t get it I guess I just have to keep drumming into your brains.

The sellers instructions to Jason included listing it on Ebay (which if he wanted to do why didn’t he list it there in the first place), getting paid through Ebay (did he mean Paypal) and then full shipping and return if he didn’t like the car (very generous).

 

When I replied to Jason with, “Can you say SCAM”? He replied with “Scam for sure? Even through Ebay/Paypal?” My reply: “Jason, this guy could do either of these things. Put it in his front yard with a sign on it that says I’M A MORON AND I’M SELLING MY $13,000 CAR FOR $3,000 and he would have a line of people fighting over it. Or – take it to the Volvo dealer and sell it for minimally $7-8K. Come on. Now I have to write about this in my blog and you will be the star idiot”. His response: “No names MADAME!!”

Sorry Jason, no one knows which Jason you are.

What more can I say on this subject but the obvious. If it seems to good to be true it most definitely is. There are a lot of scams out there, sometimes even I have to think twice (and we all know how jaded I am), so before you jump on anything that sounds to good to be true, think about it at least 5 times.

Questions: Dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

 

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

