Moving

 

It’s been a rough couple of weeks. After 25 years in business in the same location in Manhattan, we were forced to up and move. Our new location in Brooklyn is much better and our customers are following us over the bridge with great loyalty so all that is great.

As you can imagine, moving a repair shop and all it’s equipment was no picnic. This is the part where I must have a bit of a “Mea Culpa”. As you might have assessed by reading my blog I can be a little impatient when it comes to my male colleagues (ok, ok, that’s an understatement), but during this move it was apparent they were truly stellar on every level and frankly I just wouldn’t have been able to do it without them.

I’ve spent many years in a male dominated field (another understatement). I’ve always prided myself on my ability to not only hold my own but to rise above. Over the years I’ve been offered many jobs due to these skills (trust me, they are skills). Men and women have a different way of dealing with things and I have adeptly mined my way through this field. I have a very good relationship with most of the men I come in contact with, many of them becoming very good friends. Along the way I have taught them how to deal with women and I am proud to say some have reported back that I have helped them in their lives. I must admit that during all this time I have felt that woman are generally superior beings and this is where the “Mea Culpa” comes in. I’m not going to say that if I had a group of women we wouldn’t have been able to accomplish what we needed to do but I will say this, the group of men who helped with this move did it in a way that I can truly appreciate. There was no complaining (well very little), whining or moaning (there may have been a little screaming) and over the course of a couple of days lifts were removed and reinstalled, heavy equipment was relocated, wiring was connected, walls were moved, cuts and bruises were endured and we missed only 1 day of business. So, hats off to all the guys who worked so tirelessly to get this done, I can truly say I couldn’t have done it so easily without you!

I’m very happy in our new space, you’ll love it too, come visit!

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

