Question:

 

I took my car to the dealer and they gave me an estimate that was almost half the value of my car. What do you suggest I do? Sarah

 

Answer:

It never ceases to amaze me when I see some of these dealer estimates, clearly they have no personal relationship with a customer. How they can hand over an invoice for an aging vehicle, that is close to the value of the car and look someone in the eye astounds me.

I will be going into more depth on this subject in a future blog but basically what I have to say about going to the dealer for maintenance is this: the dealer is in business to sell new parts not to repair old ones. Most dealership mechanics make a commission off of what they sell to you, so just do the math.

Take the estimate the dealer gave you to an owner run shop and watch them do the work for a fraction of the cost.

Questions: dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

