Question:

I’m going to buy a car from my friend and I know I should have a car checked out by a mechanic before I buy it, but it’s my friend and I know she wouldn’t rob me. What should I do? Cynthia

 

Answer:

Always, always, let me repeat- ALWAYS, have a used car checked out by a mechanic before you buy it. Countless times customers have come in with major issues on a car they just bought from a family member or friend that’s going to cost them big cash to repair. “But my aunt wouldn’t rip me off” is the typical reply when I chastise them. Of course in most cases a friend or relative won’t rip you off (notice I said most cases….I am a jaded garage owner remember) but this is the not the point. Most people have no clue what is wrong with their cars, even when they bring them in for inspection they love to tell me that it’ll pass right through because it’s perfect and most times this is not the case. So please, just do it, take it in and have it checked out, it could save your relationship!

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

