Taking the First Steps

 

So now you know how to deal with you’re mechanic but you don’t actually have one that you trust, so what good is it? I wish I could help each and every one of you find a good mechanic in your town (not really, that would just require too much work) but since I can’t, lets walk through a few steps on how to find one. The absolute best way would be to ask everyone that you know who they use and love. Go online and check reviews, they tell you so much, one of my favorite sites is brought to us by Car Talk (I love these guys), they have a link called Mechanic Files and it goes back many years.

http://www.cartalk.com/content/mechx/

There are other review sites as well so check them all. Most mechanics will have a few bad reviews (you just can’t please everyone) so don’t expect to find perfection but you can tell plenty by what customers say.

When you find a couple you think sound good call around and see what kind of customer service they have on the phone. Do they brush you off or do they walk you through your issue? Any decent mechanic will make you feel comfortable right away, if they don’t then move on.

My biggest piece of advice will be to you ladies, most mechanics are  men and if they treat you like crap on the phone then they’ll do the same in person.  Don’t let them call you HONEY, SWEETIE, SISTER, BABY, SWEATHEART, DARLING or my all time least favorite, MOMMY. If you knew me you would be able to imagine what comes out of my mouth when they call me that.

I’ve had countless conversations with men on why it’s not ok to call me these names. Many of them just don’t get it, “but I’m being nice”, is the most common reply. They don’t get (or don’t want to get) that by calling me these names they are taking the position of power which clearly they have had for far too many years and I feel that is my job to set them straight. So please ladies, hop on the wagon with me and don’t let these guys speak down to you, don’t jump down their throats about it, give them a little smile while you fill them in (they can be delicate creatures) but be firm. I’m proud to say that I have reformed many of them but it’s a drop in the bucket.

I didn’t say finding a good mechanic was going to be easy, some work is required but it can be fun too (well that is if you find blue collar guys who work with their hands and smell slightly of grease enjoyable…..or is it my fantasy alone?).

Questions?: Dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

 

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

