Nuts and Bolts #1

When I was asked to write this blog, I thought long and hard about what message I wanted to get across to all of you auto repair customers out there and where to begin?
I asked myself what is the first thing customers can do to protect themselves in a world that they know very little to nothing about and the answer that came up was very simple.
So I will start my blogging experience with the most important piece of information I can impart and that is – FAKE IT AS BEST YOU CAN AND NEVER EVER ADMIT THAT YOU DON’T KNOW A DANG THING ABOUT YOUR CAR!
Now some of you will laugh and some of you will squirm. You’re going to say “how AM I going to do that since I DON’T know a dang thing about it”? But to that I answer, you know more than you think. You know when you push the pedal down and it just doesn’t feel right and you know that sound was not there before and you know there’s a funny smell and that something is leaking. Just knowing all that means you know plenty.

I’m going to teach you, over time, how to tell what is what and how to deal with it and what to say when they try to pull a fast over on you. For now if you have to take you’re car in please, just don’t say “I don’t know anything about cars” and you’ll be off to a good start!

 Questions? dontgetwrenched@gmail.com

About dontgetwrenched

Elayne Kling, was the owner of a downtown Manhattan auto repair shop for 25 years and recently in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, www.ZPAUTO.com. Elayne knows the particular ins and outs of the auto repair world and keeps up her blog because people will always need help navigating the potential pitfalls of that world. Due to the crazy NYC real estate market she has since closed down her shop and started a new business called Projects Unlimited Inc., helping other small businesses. www.projectsunlimitedinc.com
This entry was posted in car repair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

